Canadian ball hall to announce Jack Graney Award winner on November 25

Photo of Jack Graney during his playing days. (Courtesy of Bill Rayner and St. Thomas’s “Graney Gang”)

St. Marys, Ont. – The Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame will announce the winner of the 2014 Jack Graney Award in a press release that will be issued on November 25, 2014 at 9 a.m. ET.

The Jack Graney award is presented annually to a member of the media who has made significant contributions to baseball in Canada through their life’s work.

Born in St. Thomas, Ont., Jack Graney was a scrappy leadoff hitter for the Cleveland Indians. His big league resume boasts a number of firsts. When he walked to the plate in a game against the Boston Red Sox on July 11, 1914, he became the first batter to face Babe Ruth. Almost two years later, on June 26, 1916, he was the first major leaguer to bat wearing a number on his uniform. After hanging up his spikes, Graney became the first ex-player to make the transition to the broadcast booth, performing radio play-by-play for the Indians from 1932 to 1953.

Previous Winners of the Jack Graney Award:
1987 – Neil MacCarl – Toronto Star
1988 – Milt Dunnell – Toronto Star
1990 – Austin “Dink” Carroll – Montreal Gazette
1991 – Joe Crysdale & Hal Kelly – CKEY
1996 – Dave Van Horne – Montreal Expos
2001 – Tom Cheek – Toronto Blue Jays
2002 – Ernie Harwell – Detroit Tigers
2003 – Allan Simpson – Baseball America
2004 – Jacques Doucet – Montreal Expos
2005 – Len Bramson – TBS Sports
2009 – Ian MacDonald – Montreal Gazette
2010 – Bob Elliott – Sun Media &
2011 – W. P. Kinsella – “Shoeless Joe” novel adapted to film “Field of Dreams”
2012 – Jerry Howarth – Toronto Blue Jays
2013 – Rodger Brulotte – Montreal Expos, Toronto Blue Jays

One thought on “Canadian ball hall to announce Jack Graney Award winner on November 25

Add yours

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

Powered by

Up ↑

Exit mobile version