Canadian ball hall to present Tip O’Neill award to Votto on Friday


Joey Votto (middle in Reds uniform) won the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame’s Tip O’Neill Award in 2012. This photo – featuring seven Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame representatives – was taken when he received his award last year in Cincinnati. (Photo: Courtesy of the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame)

Courtesy of the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame

St. Marys – The 2012 James “Tip” O’Neill Award will be presented to Cincinnati Reds first baseman Joey Votto (Etobicoke, Ont.) on Friday, April 19 during a pre-game ceremony at The Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati.

The Tip O’Neill Award is presented annually by the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame to the player judged to have excelled in individual achievement and team contribution while adhering to baseball’s highest ideals.

Last season, Votto was selected to his third consecutive all-star game and registered more walks (94) and doubles (44) than any other Canadian. He also tied for the National League lead and placed second respectively in those two offensive categories and topped the Senior Circuit in intentional walks with 18 – all of this despite missing seven weeks of the season with a knee injury.

His .474 on-base percentage, .567 slugging percentage and .337 batting average were also the best among Canadian big leaguers. He also hit .389 in five playoff games. Defensively, Votto was a Gold Glove finalist and he topped National League first basemen with 116 assists.

Votto also won the Tip O’Neill Award in 2010 and shared the award with John Axford in 2011.

“I thank the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame for recognizing my contributions to our division championship team,” Votto said.

“It’s a great honour to present Joey with the Tip O’Neill award for his 2012 season. He’s not only one of the best Canadians in the game, but he’s one of the best players in the game.” said Scott Crawford, the Ball Hall’s director of operations.

The award is named after Woodstock, Ont., native James ‘Tip’ O’Neill, one of Major League baseball’s first legitimate stars. With the St. Louis Browns in 1887, O’Neill set major league records in hits, doubles, slugging percentage and total bases, while hitting a staggering .492. Walks were included as hits in 1887, but if O’Neill’s average was calculated by today’s standard, it was .435, the second highest in major league history to Hugh Duffy (.438).

Past winners of the James “Tip” O’Neill Award:

1984-Terry Puhl

1985-Dave Shipanoff

1986-Rob Ducey

1987-Larry Walker

1988-Kevin Reimer

1989-Steve Wilson

1990-Larry Walker

1991-Daniel Brabant

1992-Larry Walker

1993-Rob Butler

1994-Larry Walker

1995-Larry Walker

1996-Jason Dickson

1997-Larry Walker

1998-Larry Walker

1999-Jeff Zimmerman

2000-Ryan Dempster

2001-Larry Walker(tie)

2001-Corey Koskie (tie)

2002-Larry Walker(tie)

2002-Eric Gagne (tie)

2003-Eric Gagne

2004-Jason Bay

2005-Jason Bay

2006-Justin Morneau

2007-Russell Martin

2008-Justin Morneau

2009-Jason Bay

2010-Joey Votto

2011-John Axford (tie)

2011-Joey Votto (tie)

2012-Joey Votto

One thought on “Canadian ball hall to present Tip O’Neill award to Votto on Friday

Add yours

  1. Sent from my iPhone

    Begin forwarded message:

    > From: MALCOLM COVEN > Date: June 24, 2014 at 10:25:23 AM EDT > To: “” , paul chapnick , frank weiner , Michael Rose > Subject: Fw: Fwd: Manufacturing Baseballs > Reply-To: MALCOLM COVEN > > > >

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Powered by

Up ↑

Exit mobile version